hacker.org Forum Index
RegisterSearchFAQMemberlistUsergroupsLog in
Wormageddon Beta Goes Live!
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Reply to topic    hacker.org Forum Index » Wormageddon View previous topic
View next topic
Wormageddon Beta Goes Live!
Author Message
adum



Joined: 19 Apr 2007
Posts: 390

Post Wormageddon Beta Goes Live! Reply with quote
we're proud to bring you the beta of Wormageddon, the first bot-dueling style hacking competition on hacker.org.

write your worm bot in Java, or any language that can produce Java bytecode, and have her duke it out with the other wriggling creations.

the front page of the game contains a link to an SDK that will give you all you need to get started.

for now, no site points will be given until we make sure everything is running smoothly.

please let us know any problems/issues/suggestions as we improve your worm experience.

coming soon: replays, JARfile support.

good luck!

adum
Thu Jul 19, 2007 4:38 am View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nbarriga



Joined: 13 Jul 2007
Posts: 19

Post Reply with quote
No SDK for linux? I thought this was a hacker's site.

(I don't reply "if you're a hacker do it yourself", because I'm a lazy hacker Razz
Thu Jul 19, 2007 3:20 pm View user's profile Send private message
iceman



Joined: 31 May 2007
Posts: 6

Post Reply with quote
[quote="nbarriga"]No SDK for linux? I thought this was a hacker's site.

(I don't reply "if you're a hacker do it yourself", because I'm a lazy hacker Razz[/quote]

It's java.. shouldn't matter.

You'll need to install a java SDK - if you're rpm based, you can download one off the sun site. If you're Debian based, you can download the bin installer and trust it, or use make-jpkg to make a .deb you can install.
Thu Jul 19, 2007 7:46 pm View user's profile Send private message
iceman



Joined: 31 May 2007
Posts: 6

Post Re: Wormageddon Beta Goes Live! Reply with quote
adum wrote:
we're proud to bring you the beta of Wormageddon, the first bot-dueling style hacking competition on hacker.org.

write your worm bot in Java, or any language that can produce Java bytecode, and have her duke it out with the other wriggling creations.

the front page of the game contains a link to an SDK that will give you all you need to get started.

for now, no site points will be given until we make sure everything is running smoothly.

please let us know any problems/issues/suggestions as we improve your worm experience.

coming soon: replays, JARfile support.

good luck!

adum


a Few quick questions:

1) Can we assume the number of enemies is alwars 1? the enemies array is set up to handle multiple enemies, but I haven't found a way to find the number of enemies.

2) Under linux/debian/sun sun-j2sdk1.5, if I don't check run natively, I get:
ojvm.loading.ClassNotFoundE: File java/util/Random.class not found in: ../hackjvm/rt/bin
at ojvm.loading.ClassFileInputStream.<init>(ClassFileInputStream.java:117)
...

Running natively works fine. It might have required j2sdk1.5 rather than sun-j2re1.5, and I think I had to install awt, but that may just be me being a java newbie.

I though real hackers used Linux and C <grin>

3) Any chance of 3 vs. 3 play (a.k.a. Tron Light Cycles) - I've tossed around some neat strategies for years, but never found a forum for impelementing them...
Thu Jul 19, 2007 7:53 pm View user's profile Send private message
nbarriga



Joined: 13 Jul 2007
Posts: 19

Post Reply with quote
iceman wrote:
nbarriga wrote:
No SDK for linux? I thought this was a hacker's site.

(I don't reply "if you're a hacker do it yourself", because I'm a lazy hacker Razz


It's java.. shouldn't matter.

You'll need to install a java SDK - if you're rpm based, you can download one off the sun site. If you're Debian based, you can download the bin installer and trust it, or use make-jpkg to make a .deb you can install.


Sorry, I'm used to Makefile's and stuff, not really a Java developer. I found there is a .project that I could load with eclipse(resisting the urge to throw up) and it all run right away.
Thu Jul 19, 2007 8:29 pm View user's profile Send private message
adum



Joined: 19 Apr 2007
Posts: 390

Post Reply with quote
for linux -- everything should run just the same as windows. i included a .bat file to help launch the simulator on windows, and i will make a .sh one to do the same on linux. it actually should be just about identical with the slashes changed.

iceman -- for the error with Random.class you're getting, it sounds like you probably don't have the classpath passed to WormChooser set up right. it matters what directory you run it from, too. if you copy and paste the RunSimulator.bat line and change the slashes, and run from the right directory, it should work. what jdk/jre you're using shouldn't matter.

for 2x2 play or 3x3 play, i definitely want to implement that, and will do soon. it will be a different submission page for that though, so the same code won't have to run both types. so for now you can always assume one opponent in the enemy array (altho you can always get the array length to check in the code).

adum
Thu Jul 19, 2007 8:45 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Hacksign



Joined: 16 Jul 2007
Posts: 53
Location: China

Post Reply with quote
i love linux Smile
Fri Jul 20, 2007 1:19 am View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
iceman



Joined: 31 May 2007
Posts: 6

Post Reply with quote
nbarriga wrote:

Sorry, I'm used to Makefile's and stuff, not really a Java developer. I found there is a .project that I could load with eclipse(resisting the urge to throw up) and it all run right away.


ROTFLMAO!
Fri Jul 20, 2007 11:56 am View user's profile Send private message
iceman



Joined: 31 May 2007
Posts: 6

Post Reply with quote
adum wrote:
for linux -- everything should run just the same as windows. i included a .bat file to help launch the simulator on windows, and i will make a .sh one to do the same on linux. it actually should be just about identical with the slashes changed.


I'm still a java newbie, but I think you also need s/;/:/g

adum wrote:

iceman -- for the error with Random.class you're getting, it sounds like you probably don't have the classpath passed to WormChooser set up right. it matters what directory you run it from, too. if you copy and paste the RunSimulator.bat line and change the slashes, and run from the right directory, it should work. what jdk/jre you're using shouldn't matter.


Again, java newbie, but in true hacker fashion, as soon as I found a way that worked, I stopped Smile

adum wrote:

for 2x2 play or 3x3 play, i definitely want to implement that, and will do soon. it will be a different submission page for that though, so the same code won't have to run both types. so for now you can always assume one opponent in the enemy array (altho you can always get the array length to check in the code).

adum


Excellent.
Fri Jul 20, 2007 11:59 am View user's profile Send private message
Captain Segfault



Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 67
Location: San Carlos, CA

Post Reply with quote
adum wrote:
for linux -- everything should run just the same as windows. i included a .bat file to help launch the simulator on windows, and i will make a .sh one to do the same on linux. it actually should be just about identical with the slashes changed.

iceman -- for the error with Random.class you're getting, it sounds like you probably don't have the classpath passed to WormChooser set up right. it matters what directory you run it from, too. if you copy and paste the RunSimulator.bat line and change the slashes, and run from the right directory, it should work. what jdk/jre you're using shouldn't matter.


I get the same Random.class errors on my gentoo box, even when I run from eclipse.

Eclipse:
File java/util/Random.class not found in: ../hackjvm/rt/bin

And from a modified version of the batch file:
java -cp "lib/hackengine.jar:lib/hackjvm.jar" org.hacker.worm.WormChooser -cp "lib/rt.jar"
ojvm.loading.ClassNotFoundE: File java/util/Random.class not found in: lib/rt.jar

This only happens when I run the simulator; native is fine. Unfortunately, SegBot Mk 0.0 through 0.0b tried to clone arrays, which apparently doesn't work...
Sun Jul 22, 2007 12:50 am View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number
adum



Joined: 19 Apr 2007
Posts: 390

Post Reply with quote
hmmn, that's very curious. i'll give it a try on linux and see what happens... the java.util.Random class is certainly part of rt.jar. not sure why it wouldn't be found while the other classes are...

yeah, no cloning arrays yet. i'll take a look to see what that would involve. i'm sort of adding things to the rt/jvm as people find them necessary, so let me know your requests.

thanks,
adum
Sun Jul 22, 2007 4:32 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Captain Segfault



Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 67
Location: San Carlos, CA

Post Reply with quote
adum wrote:

yeah, no cloning arrays yet. i'll take a look to see what that would involve. i'm sort of adding things to the rt/jvm as people find them necessary, so let me know your requests.


Actually, we've got System.arraycopy already, so it's not a big deal.

What I'd *really* like is private classes. It seems like all of Java's syntactic gravy assumes you can create classes, so what I'm left with is like C without function pointers or structs.

Now to get SegBot Mk0.1full to take less than 10 million instructions...
Sun Jul 22, 2007 6:56 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number
adum



Joined: 19 Apr 2007
Posts: 390

Post Reply with quote
okay, noted that supporting multiple classes should be high priority =)

adum
Sun Jul 22, 2007 9:23 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
adum



Joined: 19 Apr 2007
Posts: 390

Post Reply with quote
i've updated the SDK -- there's now a RunSimulator.sh script that will work on linux.

cheers,
adum
Tue Jul 24, 2007 4:35 am View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nbarriga



Joined: 13 Jul 2007
Posts: 19

Post Reply with quote
Is there a possibility that you provide read only access to a cvs|svn|git server so we can update our SDKs more easily?

I think maybe that way it is less work for you and for us. (Not that it is much work anyway, so, just a suggestion/wish)
Tue Jul 24, 2007 9:24 am View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:    
Reply to topic    hacker.org Forum Index » Wormageddon All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to: 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Design by Freestyle XL / Flowers Online.