hacker.org Forum Index
RegisterSearchFAQMemberlistUsergroupsLog in
Mortal coil level 25 unsolvable
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Reply to topic    hacker.org Forum Index » Mortal Coil View previous topic
View next topic
Mortal coil level 25 unsolvable
Author Message
0xDEAD BEEF



Joined: 17 Aug 2011
Posts: 9

Post Mortal coil level 25 unsolvable Reply with quote
Hi.
Level 25 is unsolvable in web-game.



Is this by design?
Or am I missing some rule?

Sincerely,
Beef
Thu Aug 18, 2011 12:01 pm View user's profile Send private message
Tron



Joined: 22 Oct 2010
Posts: 30

Post Reply with quote
This board is solvable.
Thu Aug 18, 2011 6:02 pm View user's profile Send private message
binarylv



Joined: 11 Aug 2011
Posts: 9
Location: Latvia

Post Reply with quote
I can't solve it neither...

----

Edit: Solved... Passed wrong board to the script (wrote "x" instead of one of "X").


Last edited by binarylv on Thu Aug 18, 2011 7:06 pm; edited 1 time in total
Thu Aug 18, 2011 6:06 pm View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
0xDEAD BEEF



Joined: 17 Aug 2011
Posts: 9

Post Reply with quote
I am telling this because I really failed to solve it! Wink
left bottom corner - cleary exit position.
right bottom square where three paths meet - imposible to solve.
Could you post sollution please?
I am already past level 25 (solved another puzzle by hand).

Thnx,
Beef
Thu Aug 18, 2011 6:25 pm View user's profile Send private message
Tron



Joined: 22 Oct 2010
Posts: 30

Post Reply with quote
The start is at x=9 y=7
Thu Aug 18, 2011 6:46 pm View user's profile Send private message
martinsm



Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2
Location: Riga, Latvia

Post Reply with quote
My brute force solver finds solution immediately.
As Tron said - start is at x=9, y=7.
Thu Aug 18, 2011 6:58 pm View user's profile Send private message
0xDEAD BEEF



Joined: 17 Aug 2011
Posts: 9

Post Reply with quote
Yep!
You are right. It was obvious but I ignored it all the time! Feel free to delete this topic.
Thank you!
Beef
Edit: I guess - challange here is to let PC solve the puzzle.. Very Happy
Thu Aug 18, 2011 7:18 pm View user's profile Send private message
AMindForeverVoyaging
Forum Admin


Joined: 28 May 2011
Posts: 473
Location: Germany

Post Reply with quote
0xDEAD BEEF wrote:
Feel free to delete this topic.


Not gonna happen - not even spam gets deleted here. Wink
Fri Aug 19, 2011 7:22 am View user's profile Send private message
binarylv



Joined: 11 Aug 2011
Posts: 9
Location: Latvia

Post Reply with quote
0xDEAD BEEF wrote:
Edit: I guess - challange here is to let PC solve the puzzle.. Very Happy

Well... That's what is written here Wink
Fri Aug 19, 2011 8:54 am View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
0xDEAD BEEF



Joined: 17 Aug 2011
Posts: 9

Post Reply with quote
Last night my brute force solution reached level 62, but it was never stored in server (top rank) althought I used my user name (0xdead beef) and password.
Is there some catch here? Do I have to reuse browser cookies?

Edit: how do I specify that I want to get some specific level?

Thnx,
Beef
Fri Aug 19, 2011 9:02 am View user's profile Send private message
binarylv



Joined: 11 Aug 2011
Posts: 9
Location: Latvia

Post Reply with quote
I think it should be enough with sending "?name=0xdead%20beef&password=yourPassword&path=DRU&x=1&y=2". Try "0xdead%20beef" or "0xdead+beef" as username. If using POST, try sending username and password with POST data (rather than as URL). If username or password is incorrect, it should give you an error message rather than HTML with data about new level. Double-check that you use "name" argument and not "user" or "username" - I've mixed them few times and got no error message, so that might be the problem in your case too.

As for cookies, I never send them - it's enough with username, password, x, y and path (or qpath, as described here by Tron).

To specify the level, check what "Go To Level" button does Smile Keep in mind that it regenerates the level, i.e., if you request the level, do not repeat it when posting the result.
Fri Aug 19, 2011 9:14 am View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
0xDEAD BEEF



Joined: 17 Aug 2011
Posts: 9

Post Reply with quote
Thats's strange because if I do not use cookies then I keep getting first level all the time. Anyways - using cookies makes sense, because - how would page otherwise know - to which level I am sending solution (I use GET). However - as I said - I was able to proceed to level 62 (using cookies), but as you see, server has not recorded that.
Beef
Fri Aug 19, 2011 9:34 am View user's profile Send private message
binarylv



Joined: 11 Aug 2011
Posts: 9
Location: Latvia

Post Reply with quote
Try sending username and password instead of a cookie.

Server will know the level because you send your username and password with the solution, and server keeps track of "currently selected level" (either manually selected or the level that comes after last solved level) for each user.

Edit: Here's another user that failed to use cookies, so you're not the first to have this problem Wink
Fri Aug 19, 2011 9:41 am View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
0xDEAD BEEF



Joined: 17 Aug 2011
Posts: 9

Post Reply with quote
"Try sending username and password instead of a cookie. "

That was my first aproach.
GET username=...&password=...
parse html, get board, solve
GET username=...&password=...&x=...&y=...&path=...
Server allways responded with "stupid solution".

So I enabled cookies between these both GETs. It started working. I reached level 62. But when I come to web page, it still shows only my manualy solved levels available and also I am not in rank.

Maybe my username with space is bad???
Beef
Fri Aug 19, 2011 10:05 am View user's profile Send private message
binarylv



Joined: 11 Aug 2011
Posts: 9
Location: Latvia

Post Reply with quote
0xDEAD BEEF wrote:

That was my first aproach.
GET username=...&password=...
(..)
Maybe my username with space is bad???


Read one more time...
binarylv wrote:
I think it should be enough with sending "?name=0xdead%20beef&password=yourPassword&path=DRU&x=1&y=2". Try "0xdead%20beef" or "0xdead+beef" as username. (..) Double-check that you use "name" argument and not "user" or "username" - I've mixed them few times and got no error message, so that might be the problem in your case too.


I think spaces in URL should not be a problem as long as you encode it properly.
Fri Aug 19, 2011 10:12 am View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:    
Reply to topic    hacker.org Forum Index » Mortal Coil All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to: 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Design by Freestyle XL / Flowers Online.